Cougars Sweep NCAA Division III Championships


Nothing like “sweeping” the competition. Photo by: Prostooleh

Conway Michael, Likes Sports

The Misericordia baseball, softball and men and women’s lacrosse teams all were named NCAA Division III national champions.

The baseball team won the NCAA DIII national championship after defeating Vanderbilt University in an 11-game series with a six-game sweep. All six games were called in seven innings due to the mercy rule.

Seniors Sean Lyons, Billy Kerwien and Tyler Holzapfel were all named Co-MVP of the World Series. Holzapfel went 19-29 with seven doubles, four home runs, and 18 RBI. Lyons went 17-28 over the six games with two home runs and 13 RBI. Kerwien officially went 0-0, drawing 28 walks in 28 at-bats, a new NCAA record for walks in a row. He drew in three runs during his 28 walk streak.

The Cougars softball team also won the NCAA DIII national championship with a six-game sweep over Oklahoma University, last year’s DI runner-up.

Similar to the baseball team, every senior was named Co-MVP of the tournament. Ciara DeLong went 19-30 with six home runs, three triples, eight doubles and 18 RBI. Brooke Moyle threw a perfect game, a no-hitter and a one-hitter during her three pitching outings, striking out a total of 41 batters in three games.

Moyle also added 15 hits throughout the tournament. Jessie McDonough also went 19-30 with seven home runs, all barely fair down the left-field line, one triple, seven doubles and added 19 RBI. Taylor Baloga went 13-26 with two home runs and 17 RBI during the tournament.

The Misericordia men’s lacrosse team won the national championship after beating defending DI national champions, the University of Virginia.

During the 24-0 victory over the Cavaliers, the Cougars’ senior players all tallied at least one goal, including goalie Bryan DeGennaro. Paul Hanrahan tallied five goals and three assists. DeGennaro stopped all 46 shots sent at him, an unprecedented number put up by a lacrosse goalie. He also added a goal across the field from his own net.

Tyler Van Horn had four goals and eight assists. Defenseman James Prentice added three goals and six assists.

All four seniors were named Co-MVP of the national championship game and the NCAA DIII lacrosse tournament.

The women’s lacrosse team completed the spring sweep of the four Cougars athletics teams that saw action by capturing the national championship, defeating 2019 runner-up Boston College Eagles. All nine seniors were honored as Co-MVP of the tournament.

Every senior who wasn’t a goaltender had at least three points, whether by assist or goal. Goalie Nicole Giammarino saved every shot attempted at her during the day.

Other seniors who honored are Sarah Bender, Emily Connell, Shar O’Leary, Amanda Rackliff, Nicole Giammarino, Kaila Quinlivan, Nicole Winter, Amy Roth, and Lexee Willey.